Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Camaro T5 with a stock S10 shifter

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    AIM NAME: V8Blazin I8A4RE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Livermore, CA
    Posts
    398

    Camaro T5 with a stock S10 shifter

    For those of you who don't want to cut a hole in your floor and mount the shifter further back, check out this link.

    It shows you how to mod a camaro T5, and still use a S10 shifter.

    T5 Tech
    ________
    Model y
    Last edited by I8A4RE; 03-12-2011 at 07:42 AM.

  2. #2
    Banned lushdrunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    sweet home NC.
    Posts
    3,153
    dont work??

  3. #3
    AIM NAME: V8Blazin I8A4RE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Livermore, CA
    Posts
    398
    Good to go
    ________
    Free Joomla Themes
    Last edited by I8A4RE; 03-12-2011 at 07:42 AM.

  4. #4
    Smash it 4.3 zach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Houston Texas/Tulsa Oklahoma
    Posts
    3,193
    Ok well i have been trying to get my speedometer to work all day. I am using the stock T5 tailshaft and everyitng. I think the gear has moved like 1/2 in back wards, so i need to know if i can pri on it lightly or do i have to take off the entire tailshaft and move / glue the gear in the correct place.
    thanks,
    Zach
    06 ccsb 2/5 drop, SS 20's, 370, L92 Heads, LT's/ORY, 237/242 .603/609 112, 2pc. driveshaft, 4l80e, 3500 stall, 12.8 @ 106

    Camaro Roadster Buggy
    DailyGrindFabrication

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Port Moody B.C.
    Posts
    38
    Has anyone done this swap with pics of a S10?Wouldn't the stock shifter sit too far back?

  6. #6
    AIM NAME: V8Blazin I8A4RE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Livermore, CA
    Posts
    398
    The whole concept behind swapping the tailshafts out is to keep the stock shifter in the stock position. Are you asking if anyone has done a camaro T5 swap and left the camaro tailshaft on? If so, I have, and the shifter doesn't sit far back at all.
    ________
    Wiki Vaporizer
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by I8A4RE; 03-12-2011 at 08:06 AM.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Port Moody B.C.
    Posts
    38
    But the stock shifter is too long isn't.Does it make it harder to shift being so far back?Or do you straightin the shifter out?

  8. #8
    AIM NAME: V8Blazin I8A4RE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Livermore, CA
    Posts
    398
    Underneath the boot is a Hurst short throw, and where the threads are is where it cuts off.
    ________
    Magic Flight
    Last edited by I8A4RE; 03-12-2011 at 08:06 AM.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Port Moody B.C.
    Posts
    38
    So you just used a Hurst shifter and thats it.Use the Camaro Tailshaft and the Hurst Shifte.Do you you have to reach far to shift?

  10. #10
    AIM NAME: V8Blazin I8A4RE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Livermore, CA
    Posts
    398
    I just left the camaro T5 intact and dumped the shifter on there. It's basically like driving a car, shifter pretty much sits a little back from your knee. The original post was how to swap the tailshafts out in order to use the original shifter/location, yet have a stronger T5 behind your motor rather than swapping out the bellhousing and blowing the V6 T5 to pieces. You really can do it either way, my original intention was to keep the stock look, so the blazer was a total sleeper, even if you took a look in through the windows.
    ________
    Porno movies
    Last edited by I8A4RE; 03-12-2011 at 08:06 AM.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Port Moody B.C.
    Posts
    38
    Is the seat all the way forward or back in that pic?I want to do it but my buddy says the shifter will sit to far back.The factory tranny and shifter are pretty far forward.

  12. #12
    AIM NAME: V8Blazin I8A4RE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Livermore, CA
    Posts
    398
    The seat is all the way back. Your other option is to pick up a New Venure tranny and then you don't have to cut the extra hole and move the shifter back, but it's really not a big deal.
    ________
    VAPORIZER FORUM
    Last edited by I8A4RE; 03-12-2011 at 08:06 AM.

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Port Moody B.C.
    Posts
    38
    I really want the shifter further back than stock.I want that car feel.Sorta like a Camaro....Do you drive the truck now?Any more pics?

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Gardiner NY
    Posts
    71
    im doin a t 5 also and dont wanna use a s 10 tail shaft but what did you do for the slave cylinder ?:rolleyes:

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1
    excellent.......... thanks for the link

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •