Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: o2 sensor with true duals?

  1. #1
    Double Bagged s10blaza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    5,951

    o2 sensor with true duals?

    I'm planning to get my exhaust done sometime this week and I was wondering what I'm going to do with my 02 sensor. It is a OBD I so it only has one. I thought about putting it on the balancing pipe to get a reading from both pipes. Is there a way to fool the ECM into thinking all is well with the o2 sensor? How did you guys get by?

  2. #2
    Double Bagged s10blaza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    5,951
    anyone?

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    north east kansaas
    Posts
    140

    sensor

    Mine is in the drivers side manifold.
    ride low

  4. #4
    Your mom's box! slammins15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    surrounded by stupidity
    Posts
    6,323
    Mine is on the passenger side tube pretty much in the stock location
    I'm a black ninja motherfucker!



  5. #5
    Import Killa zach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Bama
    Posts
    476
    The sensor needs to be as close to the stock location as
    possible in order to get it up to operating temp.
    The sensor will not read correct if it is not hot enough.

    Zach
    Originally posted by Blazin Low

    I hope he has an epileptic fit while holding that chainsaw and takes himself and his boyfriend out.


    85 4x4 AWD mustang killing
    LT-4 powered bad
    mama jama.

  6. #6
    Double Bagged s10blaza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    5,951
    so is it fine if it only reads off of one side? In the stock location its where the y merges into one

  7. #7
    Import Killa zach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Bama
    Posts
    476
    I think that you will be OK placing it in the "Y" pipe.

    Zach
    Originally posted by Blazin Low

    I hope he has an epileptic fit while holding that chainsaw and takes himself and his boyfriend out.


    85 4x4 AWD mustang killing
    LT-4 powered bad
    mama jama.

  8. #8
    Double Bagged s10blaza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    5,951
    Yes yes, but I am getting a true dual setup. As in a pipe coming off each collector, and then an H-pipe, to a pair of flowmaster 40s and dump right before the axle

  9. #9
    Import Killa zach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Bama
    Posts
    476
    Then place it as close to the header collector as possible.
    I welded a bung in the collector itself on Nocoolnickname's
    truck.

    Zach
    Originally posted by Blazin Low

    I hope he has an epileptic fit while holding that chainsaw and takes himself and his boyfriend out.


    85 4x4 AWD mustang killing
    LT-4 powered bad
    mama jama.

  10. #10
    'Fraid I just Dont Member Shrugger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Columbus OH
    Posts
    420
    I think with a 3 wire you can put it pretty much where you want
    Check here http://www.cfm-tech.com/catalog/
    Originally posted by bigjsp
    "an unused weapon is a useless weapon"
    ALL infidels shall be shrugged!
    :eek: <--- 'O' face

  11. #11
    Registered User BoostedTy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Kc KS
    Posts
    295
    Running it off one side should be fine. I would, while under there, have the muffler shop guys weld a bung in the other side so that its there in the off chance you need to run an O2 sensor on both sides for troublshooting/diagnostics purposes. I have also seen where both sides are used and are hooked up to a toggle switch so that, again for diagnostics both banks can be evaluated. The case in question they were using a gauge to dial in a carbeureted application. So they would flip and read the drivers side to adjust air fuel and jetting and then flip and read passenger side and do the same...
    Damn.

  12. #12
    Double Bagged s10blaza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    5,951
    Hey that helped a lot thanks. What vehicles came with 3-wires so I know where to look for them? What would be the best place to get the switched power wire ?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •