Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Exhaust is quiet but why?

Exhaust is quiet but why?

My exhaust is stock before the muffler, but then I have a flowmaster 40 series and a 2 1/2" pipe ran out to the stock location.

My buddy has a 1968 Ford Mustang with a 200 cubic Inch inline 6, and he has a flowmaster 40 series welded in place of the stock muffler...his exhaust sounds sweet, really close to a V8 sound, at idle you have to speak up inorder to hear each other because of how loud it is.

We both have the same muffler. Now I know he has no cat, but would not havnig a cat really make it 5 times louder than what mine is? His exhaust sounds so sweet....I want mine to sound like his. Again, his is 100% stock just with a muffler welded in.

Tons of vaiables. If it was another 4.3, then you could compare them.
    Jim 94 Stepside
    ZZ430 clone V8
    NX kit in the works
    Tremec T56 6 speed
    8.5" rear
    Quote Originally Posted by Harley
    Go before show any day of the week.

lets keep this on the down-low, but my muffler fell off a few weeks back, and I said "To hell with it" and just kept going.

But now, my blazer sounds like some rednecks truck. Its actually pretty sweet, because it sounds powerful....and isnt.

I was thinking I need to get a new muffler.

The relevance to this post, is that, no matter what you add onto the exhaust, the car is only gonna be as loud as it was to begin with, plus a LITTLE louder for whatever you put on there. Want it louder? I dont think its happening.
    Listen, I just want my truck to last till next year.
    Just one more year baby.
    And next year I say the same thing.

Originally posted by Stir-Fry
    lets keep this on the down-low, but my muffler fell off a few weeks back, and I said "To hell with it" and just kept going.

But now, my blazer sounds like some rednecks truck. Its actually pretty sweet, because it sounds powerful....and isnt.

I was thinking I need to get a new muffler.