Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: carb size

  1. #1
    My Hero 2timeblaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Tacoma, WA
    Posts
    327

    carb size

    I was trying to remember the carb size on the truck I am buying. What sizes are usually used on 350. If I remember right, this engine is an old lt1. Could this be right? I think he said he had a 960. I was planning on swapping it w/ a smaller one to get better gas mileage. I was thinking of swapping with someone on this site, but it wont be for at least 2-3 weeks.
    "Now whenever someone gets wood they'll think of Trojans"--Ned Flanders

  2. #2
    Pimpin Once Again blazer88FastNLo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Metairie, Outskirts of New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    2,700
    um one I dont think LT!'s came with carbs I could be wrong but im pretty sure. and um 960 uh uh uh uh you would pass everything up but the gas station maybe 600cfm or somethin 960 is dominator range. peace out
    R.I.P. Allison Campbell R.I.P. Gone But Not Forgotten 1984-2002

  3. #3
    Registered User ZZ4Blazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Akron, Ohio
    Posts
    6,226
    The old LT1's should have came with carbs. They were before EFI, so they should have. A 960 is way, WAY too big for a 350. A 600 or 650 should be enough to feed a 350 to 300-350 hp.
    Jim 94 Stepside
    ZZ430 clone V8
    NX kit in the works
    Tremec T56 6 speed
    8.5" rear
    Quote Originally Posted by Harley
    Go before show any day of the week.

  4. #4
    My Hero 2timeblaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Tacoma, WA
    Posts
    327
    I think this truck makes about 460 HP though
    "Now whenever someone gets wood they'll think of Trojans"--Ned Flanders

  5. #5
    My Hero 2timeblaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Tacoma, WA
    Posts
    327
    did they have the lt1 in 71. I think that is the year of the engine
    "Now whenever someone gets wood they'll think of Trojans"--Ned Flanders

  6. #6
    Registered User 355Blazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Ripley Tn.
    Posts
    193
    hey if you want to do some swappin let me know I have a perfect 650 double pump (choke removed) that i run everday,even in winter without a choke. I can tell ya what carb it is if you can get me a number off of it.heres some common double pump numbers
    4776,4777,4778,4779,4780,&4781 thats for 600 to 850 cfm with 4776 being a 600 and so on

  7. #7
    LQ4 m8w6r77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    richmond,va
    Posts
    1,434
    yea the 650 dual feed double pumper will work pretty good. you can always buy the throat for a different size instead of buying a new carb.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •