Thread: Newbie questions lowering a 4x4

Newbie questions lowering a 4x4

Hey,

I'm new here. My brother just got a 97 2door 4x4 Blazer LS, 5 speed. Since he is used to driving my old school BMW, he wants a similar ride, tight and low.

I'm reading a lot of info here, but i'm still really confused.

Lowering the front:

What are the different ways of lowering the front of a 4x4? what are the differences? whats better whats worse?

I completely took out the adjuster screws for the torsion bars, i didn't do anything else. took me 2 minutes. Can I leave it like that? or do I have to pull the keys and install them upside down?
    i read the directions, but I'm having trouble understanding, I'm new to this, Is there a procedure with pics somewhere?
    I'm going to take out the bump stops. One side sits a little lower than the other. I think the bump stop is holding one side up. should i put the adjuster screws back in to even the front

I have not done anything to the rear, I am debating if I should get drop leafs or drop blocks, or do something to the stock springs to make the rear lower. Once again, what are the differences? whats better whats worse?

For $h*ts & giggles, my buddy threw on a set of 18" BMW wheels from a late 90's 3 series, the fit pretty good and they have been on the truck since last friday. the bolt pattern is 5x120mm which is 5x4.724" not exactly 4.75" but pretty close. I think I'm going to keep them. I will buy bigger tires and I will have to cut an inch of the stud that sticks out of the front wheels that hold the hub nut. doesn't look like it will effect anything.
    What do you guys think????

thanks,