Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 4wd v6 to v8

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Montana.
    Posts
    8

    4wd v6 to v8

    I was wondering if i really do have to rip out all my front 4wd stuff to make room for the v8? Im askin cuzz sombody told me i had to change the spindles and i dont really wana unless i do have 2. \

    thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member HrvckRacer29's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    1,629
    4x4 Doesn't Have Spindles

    They Have Keys

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Montana.
    Posts
    8
    no shit..ok guess i said it wrong. they told me i should just get 5' drop spindles for it cuzz thats the only way that a v8 will fit and i think he is \full of shit

  4. #4
    Registered User syclonekid43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    ct
    Posts
    5,314
    they dont make any sort of spindle/hub what ever you want to call it for a 4x4 blazer. only way to drop it is by getting the torsion bar keys.
    and yes you can still keep the 4x4 and have it work with a v8. your gonna need a 4x4 oil pan. to clear the front diff.
    91 GMC SYCLONE(fast),88 2wd blazer(old school and sold),88 S-10 BLAZER(sold),92 4dr 2wd blazer(pink and bagged)93' s-10 blazer(plow truck),88 GTA TUNE PORT(blown motor),97 MXZ 670,01 YAMAHA RAPTOR(sleeping),87 YSR 50 CC WITH A 125 CC(never be done)
    THE SURGEON GENERAL WARNING NEVER SAID ANYTHING ABOUT SMOKING A FORD

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Montana.
    Posts
    8
    well..i anit going to keep the the 4wd fuctional. i just wanted to know if a v8 will fit with out riping out all the front 4wd shit. thanks.

  6. #6
    Registered User ednigma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    HERE!
    Posts
    663
    I pulld the front trans axle out along with the toasted 4.3 bought the advanced adapters motor mount kit, and it all dropped in from there. Been motorin' happy since then.
    I don't FAIL...
    I succeed in finding what doesn't work!!!

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Montana.
    Posts
    8
    what all did you have to change to do that?

  8. #8
    Registered User ednigma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    HERE!
    Posts
    663
    had to put the advanced adapters motor mount kit in, and move my radiater foward. Thats about it. I have photos. I can email them to you if you wish.
    I don't FAIL...
    I succeed in finding what doesn't work!!!

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    2
    banned

  10. #10
    Registered User switchedupblaze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Smyrna, DE
    Posts
    49
    i got a 454 outa my dads 98 dulie that he totaled and i wanna put it in my 97 but i know im gonna have alot of clearance issues, i was wondering if anybody knew what exactly i would have to move and/or discard for my dreams to come true
    4 DOOR LOVE
    1500 watt Pheonix Digital amp
    2 JL W3 12's in a ban pass box
    4 6.5" JL evolution 3 components in doors

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •