Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 85

Thread: 355 Still flooding

  1. #16
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Lyndon, Kansas
    Posts
    7,511
    So basically, this things only really ran once??


    89' S10 blazer 4wd: 355, 650 dp, rpm intake, comp 282 roller cam, modified vortecs, T56 Six speed, 8.8 ls rear, headers, x-pipe, spintech pro street mufflers, and......AC

    Blazer burnout video - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sP7iLypoDI4

  2. #17
    Registered User lycan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    1,105
    Originally posted by Superbee
    So basically, this things only really ran once??
    Nooooooo, I've drove it up and down the street, it starts easily, normally anyways. But NOW I can't get it started and running, I mean, I can start it and it'll just stall, but won't stay running.
    I have to go grill some steak, I'll be back in an hour or something.
    Last edited by lycan; 03-07-2006 at 07:49 PM.

  3. #18
    Registered User toals's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Hampton, IL
    Posts
    1,273
    Sorry I can't remember from your other thread . . . .

    Did you ever replace the temp sending unit on the intake - the one for the ECM, not the temp gage (on the head).

    Also, make sure you get the correct sensor. Sounds exactly like the problem I had when I replaced the sensor with the wrong one. Ran rich as hell after I got it started.

  4. #19
    Registered User lycan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    1,105
    Originally posted by toals
    Sorry I can't remember from your other thread . . . .

    Did you ever replace the temp sending unit on the intake - the one for the ECM, not the temp gage (on the head).

    Also, make sure you get the correct sensor. Sounds exactly like the problem I had when I replaced the sensor with the wrong one. Ran rich as hell after I got it started.
    I haven't replaced it yet, but mine seems to be related to it starting, not after it starts. Does the temp sensor still sense how cold it is then adjust it's predetermined settings to inject more fuel when it's colder?

  5. #20
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Lyndon, Kansas
    Posts
    7,511
    Yes it does, but i wouldnt think it would make not start period. I can unplug mine and it runs like shit but will still run easilly.


    89' S10 blazer 4wd: 355, 650 dp, rpm intake, comp 282 roller cam, modified vortecs, T56 Six speed, 8.8 ls rear, headers, x-pipe, spintech pro street mufflers, and......AC

    Blazer burnout video - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sP7iLypoDI4

  6. #21
    Registered User lycan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    1,105
    Originally posted by Superbee
    Yes it does, but i wouldnt think it would make not start period. I can unplug mine and it runs like shit but will still run easilly.
    I'll try disconnecting mine tomorrow, since I drained my battery AGAIN from leaving my headlights on (don't know htf they got on in the first place...)
    I'll get a temp sensor from ebay for my truck, and I know what sensor you're talking about.
    900th post celebration.....

  7. #22
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Lyndon, Kansas
    Posts
    7,511
    why dont you just go down to a parts store and get it heh?


    89' S10 blazer 4wd: 355, 650 dp, rpm intake, comp 282 roller cam, modified vortecs, T56 Six speed, 8.8 ls rear, headers, x-pipe, spintech pro street mufflers, and......AC

    Blazer burnout video - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sP7iLypoDI4

  8. #23
    Registered User lycan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    1,105
    Originally posted by Superbee
    why dont you just go down to a parts store and get it heh?
    No, don't have a job, only have $320, $180 goes to insurance, $70 to interior I just bought, and I need money for exhaust job. That's $73 left in my pocket after all that shit, not including the exhaust job since I can't afford that.... :(
    I want a job so bad.... but a full time job that's worth having. Too bad I still haven't graduated..

  9. #24
    Registered User toals's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Hampton, IL
    Posts
    1,273
    Originally posted by lycan
    I haven't replaced it yet, but mine seems to be related to it starting, not after it starts. Does the temp sensor still sense how cold it is then adjust it's predetermined settings to inject more fuel when it's colder?
    Yes. It will adjust your air fuel mixture based upon the temp of the coolant. If the sensor is fucked up, it will signal the ECM that it is like -50 or something, so it will richen it up.

    Mine was a bitch to start - cranked forever. Then when it was running, rich as hell - black smoke. would not stay running.

    Replace the sensor. :D

  10. #25
    Registered User lycan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    1,105
    Originally posted by toals
    Yes. It will adjust your air fuel mixture based upon the temp of the coolant. If the sensor is fucked up, it will signal the ECM that it is like -50 or something, so it will richen it up.

    Mine was a bitch to start - cranked forever. Then when it was running, rich as hell - black smoke. would not stay running.

    Replace the sensor. :D
    Sounds exactly like my symptoms. I'll go to the junkyard and get one, yes?
    The one I have was pulled from a 4.3.....

  11. #26
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Lyndon, Kansas
    Posts
    7,511
    yeah a junkyard one will work, they arent much brand new though man.


    89' S10 blazer 4wd: 355, 650 dp, rpm intake, comp 282 roller cam, modified vortecs, T56 Six speed, 8.8 ls rear, headers, x-pipe, spintech pro street mufflers, and......AC

    Blazer burnout video - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sP7iLypoDI4

  12. #27
    Registered User lycan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    1,105
    Originally posted by Superbee
    yeah a junkyard one will work, they arent much brand new though man.
    I know...
    How about I come over and do some bitch work for you and you buy me a new one :rofl:

  13. #28
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Lyndon, Kansas
    Posts
    7,511
    Lol, that would work. Hate to say it, but why dont you go to a junkyard and just steal one?


    89' S10 blazer 4wd: 355, 650 dp, rpm intake, comp 282 roller cam, modified vortecs, T56 Six speed, 8.8 ls rear, headers, x-pipe, spintech pro street mufflers, and......AC

    Blazer burnout video - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sP7iLypoDI4

  14. #29
    Registered User lycan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    1,105
    Originally posted by Superbee
    Lol, that would work. Hate to say it, but why dont you go to a junkyard and just steal one?
    ....How else would I get it?

  15. #30
    Registered User toals's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Hampton, IL
    Posts
    1,273
    Originally posted by lycan
    Sounds exactly like my symptoms. I'll go to the junkyard and get one, yes?
    The one I have was pulled from a 4.3.....
    What did I tell you about junk yard sensors? This stuff is a little fussy.

    Give me the specs for the motor (year, make, etc.) and your shipping address.

    I will go to GM tomorrow and get you one and ship it to you!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •