Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 55

Thread: MSD installed

  1. #1
    Rollin' Holy Member jstblz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    4,544

    MSD installed

    Buy the harness, its worth it. I mounted it on the firewall ran the power and ground. really simple.

    Nice and smooth throttle response. You don't have to wait for your power and I don't see any cons from this install. 10 mile test drive with no ill effects and no gauge spiking from emi.

    I like it.:bigthumb:
    Otter fan club CEO

    Originally posted by SpikesBlazin
    dont worry i like them black too. :omg:
    "A little knowledge of science makes man an atheist, but an in-depth study of science makes him a believer in GOD."
    Francis Bacon (1561-1626)

  2. #2
    Under Construction 98low4x4blazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Columbus Ohio
    Posts
    5,659
    i like mine, i and got the harness made the install really quick. what box did you get?
    pic's of what my blazer used to be
    Http://www.streetsourcemag.com/Profile.aspx?profileid=22972

    custom parts are built not bought

    When its done, you'll wish it was yours.


  3. #3
    Your mom's box! slammins15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    surrounded by stupidity
    Posts
    6,323
    Yep I bought the harness for my 6AL makes it real easy to hook up and clean looking I wouldn't even try to save $25 to wire it the other way without it.
    I'm a black ninja motherfucker!



  4. #4
    Rollin' Holy Member jstblz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    4,544
    6A
    Otter fan club CEO

    Originally posted by SpikesBlazin
    dont worry i like them black too. :omg:
    "A little knowledge of science makes man an atheist, but an in-depth study of science makes him a believer in GOD."
    Francis Bacon (1561-1626)

  5. #5
    Registered User 02xtremeblaze's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Beech Grove IN
    Posts
    99
    I have always been interested in getting a msd ign. just didnt know too much about them, with that wiring kit it couldnt be too hard.....so is the 6a what everyone recomends?? thanks
    http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2424845

    http://www.myspace.com/8404004

  6. #6
    bagged member banginjimmy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Dallas, GA
    Posts
    4,159
    I have the 6a in my truck and I definately noticed a difference.

  7. #7
    Your mom's box! slammins15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    surrounded by stupidity
    Posts
    6,323
    Originally posted by 02xtremeblaze
    I have always been interested in getting a msd ign. just didnt know too much about them, with that wiring kit it couldnt be too hard.....so is the 6a what everyone recomends?? thanks
    6A is fine but if you want to have a rev limiter get a 6AL.
    I'm a black ninja motherfucker!



  8. #8
    Registered User 02xtremeblaze's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Beech Grove IN
    Posts
    99
    well if there is no performance difference between the 2 then the 6al seems to be safer.......i know they have them at the local autoshop how much do they run??
    http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2424845

    http://www.myspace.com/8404004

  9. #9
    The Baby Seal Says: drewdaddyblazin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Moore, Oklahoma
    Posts
    1,957
    the MSD6a was the best bang for the buck mod i ever did to my old 4.3...

    I didnt buy the harness... It takes 5 mintues to solder... I also do not have the harness for my v8... Its not hard to wire, just read the instructions... But if you got the extra money, go for it...

    Get some 1.6 ratio roller rockers for your 4.3s youll like those too :)
    (08:25:41 PM) AndySeals355: shes one of those jesus loves everyone types lol
    (08:25:42 PM) Zachary188: when she's ontop you'll have the cross necklace hitting you in the face!
    (08:25:49 PM) AndySeals355: LMFAO

  10. #10
    Senior Member bigjsp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    12,665
    Originally posted by slammins15
    6A is fine but if you want to have a rev limiter get a 6AL.
    x2

  11. #11
    Zombie Killer 6SpeedBlazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Lake St. Louis
    Posts
    6,594
    Originally posted by bigjsp
    x2
    6al for me.

    why do all my goodies have to cost more :(

  12. #12
    Senior Member bigjsp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    12,665
    Originally posted by tippmann243
    6al for me.

    why do all my goodies have to cost more :(
    you still only have to buy 1 :D

  13. #13
    Zombie Killer 6SpeedBlazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Lake St. Louis
    Posts
    6,594
    true

    and buying the 6al is cheeper then a new motor when i miss a shift

  14. #14
    Senior Member bigjsp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    12,665
    Originally posted by tippmann243
    true

    and buying the 6al is cheeper then a new motor when i miss a shift
    plus a built in "port" for adding a 2 step to adjust your manual tranny launch

  15. #15
    Zombie Killer 6SpeedBlazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Lake St. Louis
    Posts
    6,594
    ohh i didnt know that

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •