Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 81

Thread: my 2.8 to 4.3 swap

  1. #16
    loving the low life layitlo_88's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Carrollton Ga
    Posts
    2,721
    Well when the time comes I can use the help. But I'll understand if ya can't. That's up to you. I'll be getting a late start on my truck tomorrow. I have a freidns honda to work on. I'm changing a starter for her. So maybe odd jobs may help.


    www.cardomain.com/ride/1169679
    Check out my ride.

    .

  2. #17
    loving the low life layitlo_88's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Carrollton Ga
    Posts
    2,721
    Here's an update. I finally got the wrecker over here today to switch out the motors. And the 4.3 is in my blazer. I just have to finish putting it back together. But I have a Q for ya. The 4.3 trans doesn't have a speedo cable and my 2.8 trans did. How can do I hook up my speedo cable. I know how to put it in but I want the 4.3 to work right. And ideas guys? Thanks in advance.


    www.cardomain.com/ride/1169679
    Check out my ride.

    .

  3. #18
    Super Saiyan User Dragonball98312's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Bremerton, WA
    Posts
    324
    if you have the parts truck there why not swap gauge clusters, that way youll be all electric

  4. #19
    loving the low life layitlo_88's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Carrollton Ga
    Posts
    2,721
    well cause my cluster has a tac in it and I wanted to keep the tac. Plus I don't really want to do that to it.


    www.cardomain.com/ride/1169679
    Check out my ride.

    .

  5. #20
    Registered User 03dirtydime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    86
    Do i smell a monster tach? lmao it would go good if you do the 5 speed swap
    Too many mods to list :D
    www.cardomain.com/ride/2293608

  6. #21
    Senior Member bigjsp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    12,665
    Originally posted by 03dirtydime
    Do i smell a monster tach? lmao it would go good if you do the 5 speed swap

    remember the budget.......... or are you donating a christmas present Tach to Layitlo_88

  7. #22
    Registered User 03dirtydime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    86
    i would if i had the money lol...yea i know his budget trust me its about as big as mine maybe even more lol...keep in mind i'm the one helping him(on the weekends) but he's a good enough guy i'd give him one if i had one....that reminded me ted i might get you one off of a trade...i'll try
    Too many mods to list :D
    www.cardomain.com/ride/2293608

  8. #23
    lowered member mpeace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Rome, GA
    Posts
    1,155
    if you don't get it finished by sunday I plan to ride out so I can help finish it up, hopefully.
    If you can't do your custom work yourself then sell your ride.

  9. #24
    loving the low life layitlo_88's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Carrollton Ga
    Posts
    2,721
    Originally posted by mpeace
    if you don't get it finished by sunday I plan to ride out so I can help finish it up, hopefully.
    That would be cool if you get to make it out. Just come early. I get up at 8 your time to get started. And I could use your help with the hood hinge. I'm not sure how to get the rod into the bar on my hood.


    www.cardomain.com/ride/1169679
    Check out my ride.

    .

  10. #25
    loving the low life layitlo_88's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Carrollton Ga
    Posts
    2,721
    Originally posted by 03dirtydime
    i would if i had the money lol...yea i know his budget trust me its about as big as mine maybe even more lol...keep in mind i'm the one helping him(on the weekends) but he's a good enough guy i'd give him one if i had one....that reminded me ted i might get you one off of a trade...i'll try
    I could use one. lol


    www.cardomain.com/ride/1169679
    Check out my ride.

    .

  11. #26
    lowered member mpeace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Rome, GA
    Posts
    1,155
    Originally posted by layitlo_88
    That would be cool if you get to make it out. Just come early. I get up at 8 your time to get started. And I could use your help with the hood hinge. I'm not sure how to get the rod into the bar on my hood.

    can't be there that early I have to rotate the tire's on my truck before I can leave sunday.as for the hood hinge that's easy.
    If you can't do your custom work yourself then sell your ride.

  12. #27
    loving the low life layitlo_88's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Carrollton Ga
    Posts
    2,721
    I know. Just get here as soon as you can. Just be careful on the drive. There's alot of idot drivers out. It is the holiday season. I hope the hinge is easy I'm not sure how to get the rod in. But could you bring a sledge hammer? I don't have one and may need on.


    www.cardomain.com/ride/1169679
    Check out my ride.

    .

  13. #28
    Registered User 03dirtydime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    86
    i'll have one in the am
    Too many mods to list :D
    www.cardomain.com/ride/2293608

  14. #29
    loving the low life layitlo_88's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Carrollton Ga
    Posts
    2,721
    Originally posted by 03dirtydime
    i'll have one in the am
    Hey cool, get on aim bro. Hey you have a way to cut my exhaust pipes don't you?


    www.cardomain.com/ride/1169679
    Check out my ride.

    .

  15. #30
    loving the low life layitlo_88's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Carrollton Ga
    Posts
    2,721

    New update

    Well today we wired it up except for the lights. I have to fix a spot or two on the lights. But I'm having to bypass the stock wires for the fuel pump cause it won't turn on when you turn on the switch. So I got me a toggle and ran a wire to the battery for it. I'm hoping to start it in the morning. But I will have to go a few days with out a hood since the rad I have is too tall for it. I got one from a 4.3 astro and it won't fit with the hood on. The core support should be the same but the astro van must need a taller rad. Getting the front end on won't take long but I have to have it running first so I can see what's wrong with it starting. But it does try to start. So I'm keeping my fingers crossed. But if ya have any ideas let me know. And if someone knows what the wires at the pump do please let me know. I can't figure it out.


    www.cardomain.com/ride/1169679
    Check out my ride.

    .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •