Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 81

Thread: my 2.8 to 4.3 swap

  1. #46
    loving the low life layitlo_88's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Carrollton Ga
    Posts
    2,726
    Ok I found out what some of the wires go to. They go to the taillights and should be the speakers and fuel pump. I just have to connect the wiring harness to them instead of running the wires all the way back like on the pickup.


    www.cardomain.com/ride/1169679
    Check out my ride.

    .

  2. #47
    Zombie Killer 6SpeedBlazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Lake St. Louis
    Posts
    6,594
    speaker wires ran into the engine wiring harness? :confused: :confused: :confused:

  3. #48
    loving the low life layitlo_88's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Carrollton Ga
    Posts
    2,726
    Originally posted by tippmann243
    speaker wires ran into the engine wiring harness? :confused: :confused: :confused:
    Well the speaker wires do run ito the dash under the carpet. They are in the harness behind the dash. I can't think of anything else they could be for. I'm gonna take out the 6x9's to make sure. They may have one that goes to the seat belt light in the truck too. I just haven't had a chance to check it.


    www.cardomain.com/ride/1169679
    Check out my ride.

    .

  4. #49
    Your mom's box! slammins15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    surrounded by stupidity
    Posts
    6,323

    Re: New update

    Originally posted by layitlo_88
    But I will have to go a few days with out a hood since the rad I have is too tall for it. I got one from a 4.3 astro and it won't fit with the hood on. The core support should be the same but the astro van must need a taller rad.
    Why can't you use your 2.8 rad on your 4.3 it should be fine lots of people use a 4.3 rad with V8 swaps and thats alot more demanding than a 4.3 will be from a 2.8 swap
    I'm a black ninja motherfucker!



  5. #50
    loving the low life layitlo_88's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Carrollton Ga
    Posts
    2,726

    Re: Re: New update

    Originally posted by slammins15
    Why can't you use your 2.8 rad on your 4.3 it should be fine lots of people use a 4.3 rad with V8 swaps and thats alot more demanding than a 4.3 will be from a 2.8 swap
    Well the hoses don't match up and there is a heater hose that goes to the 4.3 rad instead of the water pump and where it would go on the 2.8 pump is blocked off on the 4.3. I still have to find a 4.3 rad since the one I had wasn't going to work and I got the money back from it.


    www.cardomain.com/ride/1169679
    Check out my ride.

    .

  6. #51
    Blazinlow is for fags BlazinCrisco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    520
    any new pictureS?

  7. #52
    loving the low life layitlo_88's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Carrollton Ga
    Posts
    2,726
    Originally posted by BlazinCrisco
    any new pictureS?
    No not yet. I don't like taking pics while my hands are full of grease. I may get some this weekend. I've got to put my dash back in a see if I can start it. But I'm looking for a part right now so we'll have to see.


    www.cardomain.com/ride/1169679
    Check out my ride.

    .

  8. #53
    Blazinlow is for fags BlazinCrisco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    520
    Sounds good :bigthumb:

  9. #54
    Zombie Killer 6SpeedBlazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Lake St. Louis
    Posts
    6,594

    Re: Re: Re: New update

    Originally posted by layitlo_88
    Well the hoses don't match up and there is a heater hose that goes to the 4.3 rad instead of the water pump and where it would go on the 2.8 pump is blocked off on the 4.3. I still have to find a 4.3 rad since the one I had wasn't going to work and I got the money back from it.
    there was a guy on the forum that used a 2.8 rad on a v8 blazer why not with a 4.3

  10. #55
    loving the low life layitlo_88's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Carrollton Ga
    Posts
    2,726
    Well if I knew what I needed to get I'd use it since it's new. But I think I remember someone telling me that the 2.8 rad would not cool the 4.3 but I'm not an expert here. But if someone could point me in the right way I'd be willing to listen. Anything to save money.


    www.cardomain.com/ride/1169679
    Check out my ride.

    .

  11. #56
    loving the low life layitlo_88's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Carrollton Ga
    Posts
    2,726
    Ok guys I could use some help here. I've got the dash back in and I'm getting power to all the injector wires but one of them. I have the fuel pump running off the 4.3 harness. I just have to finish running the wires so they are hide. I know the injectors may be bad but how can you tell? And am I supposed to get power on all 4 injector wires or is on supposed to be a ground? I hope someone can tell me.


    www.cardomain.com/ride/1169679
    Check out my ride.

    .

  12. #57
    loving the low life layitlo_88's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Carrollton Ga
    Posts
    2,726
    Here's a couple of pics.



    www.cardomain.com/ride/1169679
    Check out my ride.

    .

  13. #58
    ZQ8 Jimmy 92Jimmy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Monroe, NC
    Posts
    944
    I think I can get you a radiator for your truck dude. Just let me know how much your willing to pay for one. I'll see what I can do for ya tomorrow. Later. -Josh
    85' Jimmy 2Dr 2WD Blown 2.8L*Sold*
    88' S-10 2Dr 2WD Blown 2.5L *Sold*
    88' Jimmy 2Dr 2WD R Code 2.8L *Daily Project*
    89' Jimmy 2dr 2WD Z Code 4.3L TBI *Parts Truck*
    92' Jimmy 4Dr 2WD W Code 4.3L Vortec *Sold*

    Quote Originally Posted by FeTTo View Post
    please tell me you just took your stupid pill before posting that :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

  14. #59
    loving the low life layitlo_88's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Carrollton Ga
    Posts
    2,726

    Question

    Ok guys need some input here. I wanted to see what you guys think. Should I get a carbed intake and switch to a carb or should I still try to get my injection working? I can get a carbed intake and it will cost as much as putting it in the shop and getting them to get the injectors runing for me. Well let me know what ya think.


    www.cardomain.com/ride/1169679
    Check out my ride.

    .

  15. #60
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Lyndon, Kansas
    Posts
    7,511
    if your gonna modify the internals go carb if you gonna drive it how it is, get the injection working.


    89' S10 blazer 4wd: 355, 650 dp, rpm intake, comp 282 roller cam, modified vortecs, T56 Six speed, 8.8 ls rear, headers, x-pipe, spintech pro street mufflers, and......AC

    Blazer burnout video - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sP7iLypoDI4

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •