Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: engine upgrade time

Tahoe Owning Member

engine upgrade time

Well since my other post about blowing my engine I have finally found one online that isnt to badly priced and seems like it would work fine in my truck. I have a 1998 4 door tahoe with a vortec 5.7 in it right now thats blown. I found this small block 350 online but its a TBI unit. I'm no pro on engines so basically wa I need to know is, will this engine bolt up 2 my tranny I have now? is this engine fuel injected? what exactly is the difference between the vortec and TBI and will it cause computer problems? I'm looking for an engine that will be able to be dropped in and hooked up with minor modifications.

http://nightwolfengines.com/350_tbi_stage_2.htm

Its the 1st one in that list with 346 HP and 423 ft lbs with the hydraulic roller.

Banned
    Good luck tuning a 345 hp tbi engine.

The tbi and vortec are different injection and computer systems. To make it easiest on you, stay vortec injection to keep all the stock wiring and computer, get a new or used v8 block if the old one had a rod throw through it or somthing.

Use your old vortec head which are great, get them hottanked and redone, and a few performance mods, get a decent sized cam with maybe 216ish duration and mid 400's or a little higher lift and a 112 lobe separation to keep the computer happy. 9ish to 1 compression, roller rockers, headers and call it a day. Probably fall short of your 345 goal but will still be a stout motor. if you got the cash you can of course go more wild than that.
    Last edited by Superbee; 02-08-2007 at 08:54 PM.

89' S10 blazer 4wd: 355, 650 dp, rpm intake, comp 282 roller cam, modified vortecs, T56 Six speed, 8.8 ls rear, headers, x-pipe, spintech pro street mufflers, and......AC

Blazer burnout video - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sP7iLypoDI4

Tahoe Owning Member