Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sub Box

Sub Box

Guys, I'm not a big expert on building boxes and whatnot for speakers so I'll leave this up to you all. My truck is currently out of commision while I rebuild the engine in it and in the mean time I'm going to build a box to hold the subs I am buying. So here are my questions.

Info:
    4Dr 1st Gen Jimmy
    Spare tire located inside (want to leave it mounted)
    0 Guage Monster Wire throughout
    New Yellow Top Optima Battery
    2 12" Alpine Type E subs
    2 10" Alpine Type E subs

I want to know what thickness MDF board I should use on this box. I want the 2 12's facing up directly behind the rear seat and the other two shelved off and facing the rear with my amps sitting on the shelf in between them. My other question is can I get some pics of yall's setups since I have an idea of what I want. Will my Sony CDX-10 cd player be enough or should I get something newer/ better like an Alpine....And one more thing, what wattage amps should I run? The box will most likely be sealed and I was thinking 1.2 to 1.5 per sub. Does that sound correct? Thanks. -Josh
    85' Jimmy 2Dr 2WD Blown 2.8L*Sold*
    88' S-10 2Dr 2WD Blown 2.5L *Sold*
    88' Jimmy 2Dr 2WD R Code 2.8L *Daily Project*
    89' Jimmy 2dr 2WD Z Code 4.3L TBI *Parts Truck*
    92' Jimmy 4Dr 2WD W Code 4.3L Vortec *Sold*

Quote Originally Posted by FeTTo View Post
    please tell me you just took your stupid pill before posting that :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

I wouldn't mix sub sizes. You'll get a ton of cancelation with 2 different sizes, and it'll sound like caca, imo. If you build the box right, you should be happy with the 2 12"s. :cool:
    TRUCK WHORE '84 tahoe blazer, '89 blazer, '92 blazer 4dr, '93 s10, '93 GMC Typhoon, '94 blazer, '02 blazer xtreme, '03 s10 xcab, & now '91 4dr blazer
    http://noaffiliation.net/index.php?s...35fee061aa940b