Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: 4.3 distributor

  1. #1
    Registered User 03dirtydime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    86

    4.3 distributor

    I'm asking this for a fellow member who does not have internet right now. What would be needed to hook up a distributor to a 4.3? Would HEI be better then a stock one? Would he need a MSD box? I'm not big into distributors so I have no clue, thanks for any help.
    Too many mods to list :D
    www.cardomain.com/ride/2293608

  2. #2
    Registered User syclonekid43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    ct
    Posts
    5,314
    what year 4.3? a little more info would help us better
    91 GMC SYCLONE(fast),88 2wd blazer(old school and sold),88 S-10 BLAZER(sold),92 4dr 2wd blazer(pink and bagged)93' s-10 blazer(plow truck),88 GTA TUNE PORT(blown motor),97 MXZ 670,01 YAMAHA RAPTOR(sleeping),87 YSR 50 CC WITH A 125 CC(never be done)
    THE SURGEON GENERAL WARNING NEVER SAID ANYTHING ABOUT SMOKING A FORD

  3. #3
    Registered User 03dirtydime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    86
    Sorry I forgot it's a 89 4.3 in a 88 blazer
    Too many mods to list :D
    www.cardomain.com/ride/2293608

  4. #4
    Registered User syclonekid43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    ct
    Posts
    5,314
    they are he same distributor. there is a plug in the harness tha goes to the modual(sp) and then theres another plug from the coil to the modual.
    91 GMC SYCLONE(fast),88 2wd blazer(old school and sold),88 S-10 BLAZER(sold),92 4dr 2wd blazer(pink and bagged)93' s-10 blazer(plow truck),88 GTA TUNE PORT(blown motor),97 MXZ 670,01 YAMAHA RAPTOR(sleeping),87 YSR 50 CC WITH A 125 CC(never be done)
    THE SURGEON GENERAL WARNING NEVER SAID ANYTHING ABOUT SMOKING A FORD

  5. #5
    loving the low life layitlo_88's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Carrollton Ga
    Posts
    2,726
    Quote Originally Posted by syclonekid43 View Post
    they are he same distributor. there is a plug in the harness tha goes to the modual(sp) and then theres another plug from the coil to the modual.
    He was asking for me. Thanks carl. The thing is I have no idea how to make the stock one work without the computer. I'm taking out the tbi since I can't get it to work and I'm going to put on a 2 or 4 barrel carb. So I don't think the stock dizzy will work. I checked advance auto and they have a hei that's for the 85 chevy astro van with the 4 barrel carb and it doesn't use the tbi since it has the 4 barrel carb. Should I go ahead and get the dizzy from the astro or can I use the one I already have 2 of? I'll have the net in a day or so but till then I have to borrow it at work. Any help with be apreciated and I will respond as soon as I can. Thanks again carl.


    www.cardomain.com/ride/1169679
    Check out my ride.

    .

  6. #6
    Registered User 03dirtydime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    86
    Not a problem man! Just tryin to help out some
    Too many mods to list :D
    www.cardomain.com/ride/2293608

  7. #7
    loving the low life layitlo_88's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Carrollton Ga
    Posts
    2,726
    Yeah I know you are. You have helped me alot. I'm still waiting for the phone and dsl to bew back on.


    www.cardomain.com/ride/1169679
    Check out my ride.

    .

  8. #8
    Registered User syclonekid43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    ct
    Posts
    5,314
    i have no idea. i didnt know you were goin to a carbed set up. ill see if i can search for some info in a bit for you
    91 GMC SYCLONE(fast),88 2wd blazer(old school and sold),88 S-10 BLAZER(sold),92 4dr 2wd blazer(pink and bagged)93' s-10 blazer(plow truck),88 GTA TUNE PORT(blown motor),97 MXZ 670,01 YAMAHA RAPTOR(sleeping),87 YSR 50 CC WITH A 125 CC(never be done)
    THE SURGEON GENERAL WARNING NEVER SAID ANYTHING ABOUT SMOKING A FORD

  9. #9
    loving the low life layitlo_88's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Carrollton Ga
    Posts
    2,726
    Quote Originally Posted by syclonekid43 View Post
    i have no idea. i didnt know you were goin to a carbed set up. ill see if i can search for some info in a bit for you
    Hey man that would be great. I'mworking so I don't have much time to look up what I need. And I'm waiting on them to turn on my phone and dsl. I have to buy everything next month cause my 2.5 went out in my 87 blazer and I don't have the money to fix that one yet so I'm gonna fix the one that is supposed to run afterwards. Well after the carb setup is installed. Thanks again.


    www.cardomain.com/ride/1169679
    Check out my ride.

    .

  10. #10
    loving the low life layitlo_88's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Carrollton Ga
    Posts
    2,726
    OK I've got the net now so I need all the help I can get. I don't have a ride and really need to fix my 88 so I can drive it again.


    www.cardomain.com/ride/1169679
    Check out my ride.

    .

  11. #11
    Your mom's box! slammins15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    surrounded by stupidity
    Posts
    6,323
    You can't use a computer controlled distributor on a carbed engine with no computer.
    I'm a black ninja motherfucker!



  12. #12
    loving the low life layitlo_88's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Carrollton Ga
    Posts
    2,726
    I was thinking that so will a dizzy from the 85 astro van fit my 89 4.3? they go for 104 at advance with a spot for a tach to be plugged in too. If that will work that's what I'll do. But I don't know yet.


    www.cardomain.com/ride/1169679
    Check out my ride.

    .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •