Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: driveshaft too short?

  1. #1
    long member bigdawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Butler, KY
    Posts
    1,404

    driveshaft too short?

    The body on my s10 was too far gone so I bought a nice 2wd 2 door blazer body to put my 305 and th350 trans in. Well, I pretty much have switched all of it over and I'm down to driveshafts. The driveshaft out of the s10 will definetly not work but the driveshaft from the blazer from the 700r4 fits but my th350 is about 1 inch shorter than the 700r4 was. I guess my ultimate question is this. How deep does the yoke need to be in the tranny? Its about 2 inches give or take now. Is that deep enough? Sorry for the long post. Thanks. Jason
    2000 Red Dime sitting low.and pretty.

  2. #2
    long member bigdawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Butler, KY
    Posts
    1,404
    Anyone? I know I'm not the only one who's had this happen.
    2000 Red Dime sitting low.and pretty.

  3. #3
    Registered User bradwick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    paragould ark
    Posts
    98
    2 1nches fine

  4. #4
    Doesnt look like this supernova's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    baton rouge, la
    Posts
    6,558
    i think stock i had only an inch showing out the end. So when i had my cut shorter i left it at that. Ive heard how much you should have but cant remember. Id call a trans or driveshaft shop

  5. #5
    5.7L VORTEC 350 blazin4low's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Jax,FL
    Posts
    2,617
    def talk to a driveshaft shop.....but if i remembe correctly you should have aleast 1-2" showing for suspension travel
    http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t114/VortecBlazer/sidredo.jpg
    Tuned by Bland Tuning
    Transmission built by Transbuilderguy on FSC!
    Marine Intake swap by me

  6. #6
    LQ4/LS1 Turner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Kelowna, B.C.
    Posts
    562
    you want a min of 3 inches of drive shaft yoke in the tranny

  7. #7
    long member bigdawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Butler, KY
    Posts
    1,404
    Quote Originally Posted by Turner View Post
    you want a min of 3 inches of drive shaft yoke in the tranny
    This was what I was fearing. Called cincy driveline and hydrolic and they are going to make me a new one for 200 bucks. That's 100 bucks an inch. Lol. Also I plan on lowerin it about 4 inches in the rear. Is that going to push the yoke in the tranny more or pull it out more? Thanks guys for the info.
    2000 Red Dime sitting low.and pretty.

  8. #8
    Blazin no mo Forklift's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Vancouver WA
    Posts
    8,597
    that will push it in some
    04 EC Silverado 4.8L,Pioneer, Rockford Fosgate, K&N, Viper, ACT, USSpeedo, Matrix, Whelen, Blackbear, 22" Eagles, Nittos,Russel,Magnaflow
    85 S-15 2.5L/4spd, RF P1 subs, highs & T4004, JL 250/1, SD 4-link, AIM LCAs, 1/2 valves, Blazer interior, 17" Eagles w/BFGs, phantom grill, 140 amp alt

  9. #9
    long member bigdawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Butler, KY
    Posts
    1,404
    Ok, that's what I was thinking it would do. So I guess I will get it lowered before I measure and order. Thanks forklift.
    2000 Red Dime sitting low.and pretty.

  10. #10
    Senior Member bigjsp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    12,665
    some yokes are longer from the factory, but getting tougher to find one in good shape at a junk yard because they get pulling out and rust.

    this part could be a bolt in solution

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/NEW-D...item334f454f2f

  11. #11
    V8 Super Beetle V8SuperBeetle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    232
    I recently had one shortened for my th350, the bug. There should be 3/4" slack. In other words, push the yoke all the way in until it stops, then pull it out 3/4".
    VW makes it, Chevy shakes it...

  12. #12
    long member bigdawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Butler, KY
    Posts
    1,404

    Update!

    My buddy gave me a driveshaft that fit perfect. It was a stock 1969 camaro driveshaft. So, if anyone every has this same problem. This will work. Didn't even have to change the u joints. Thanks to all who replied.
    2000 Red Dime sitting low.and pretty.

  13. #13
    Administrator Blazin Low's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    In Front of You
    Posts
    4,713
    bigdawg, sorry to derail. Your question seems to be answered though. You must allow some travel for the driveshaft for suspension variation. It can't be too long where there's no room for the yoke to slide back and forth in the tailshaft an inch or so.

    Quote Originally Posted by bradwick View Post
    2 1nches fine
    How do you typo a one (1) instead of an 'i'

    Holy Shit.

  14. #14
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Lyndon, Kansas
    Posts
    7,511
    Quote Originally Posted by Blazin Low View Post
    How do you typo a one (1) instead of an 'i'

    Holy Shit.

    This. /\


    89' S10 blazer 4wd: 355, 650 dp, rpm intake, comp 282 roller cam, modified vortecs, T56 Six speed, 8.8 ls rear, headers, x-pipe, spintech pro street mufflers, and......AC

    Blazer burnout video - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sP7iLypoDI4

  15. #15
    long member bigdawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Butler, KY
    Posts
    1,404
    Quote Originally Posted by Blazin Low View Post
    bigdawg, sorry to derail. Your question seems to be answered though. You must allow some travel for the driveshaft for suspension variation. It can't be too long where there's no room for the yoke to slide back and forth in the tailshaft an inch or so.



    How do you typo a one (1) instead of an 'i'

    Holy Shit.
    What? Do I typo? Anyways, I've got about 1 inch showing with the suspension bottomed all the way out. When it is fully suspended it dindnt change. Thanks for the reply bl. Superbee, thanks for posting nothing. Haha. Just kidding.
    2000 Red Dime sitting low.and pretty.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •