Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Typhoon turbo on a regular 4.3

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    not a 93 anymore 93 TireShredder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Stafford,Virginia
    Posts
    58

    Typhoon turbo on a regular 4.3

    I was just thinking but could you take a Ty/sy turbo and put it on a regular 4.3. I guess you have more trouble finding a donor first.

  2. #2
    Blazin no mo Forklift's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Vancouver WA
    Posts
    8,597
    sure, after you rebuild the engine to take the pressure
    04 EC Silverado 4.8L,Pioneer, Rockford Fosgate, K&N, Viper, ACT, USSpeedo, Matrix, Whelen, Blackbear, 22" Eagles, Nittos,Russel,Magnaflow
    85 S-15 2.5L/4spd, RF P1 subs, highs & T4004, JL 250/1, SD 4-link, AIM LCAs, 1/2 valves, Blazer interior, 17" Eagles w/BFGs, phantom grill, 140 amp alt

  3. #3
    Zombie Killer 6SpeedBlazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Lake St. Louis
    Posts
    6,594
    Quote Originally Posted by Forklift View Post
    sure, after you rebuild the engine to take the pressure
    sy/ty guys run stock 4.3L's all the time with reduced boost.

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Lyndon, Kansas
    Posts
    7,511
    Quote Originally Posted by 93 TireShredder View Post
    I was just thinking but could you take a Ty/sy turbo and put it on a regular 4.3. I guess you have more trouble finding a donor first.
    yes


    89' S10 blazer 4wd: 355, 650 dp, rpm intake, comp 282 roller cam, modified vortecs, T56 Six speed, 8.8 ls rear, headers, x-pipe, spintech pro street mufflers, and......AC

    Blazer burnout video - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sP7iLypoDI4

  5. #5
    Registered User 84dime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    113
    Why? You can buy alot better turbos for cheap. First thing to do is swap the turbo on a typhoon.
    -Practice does not make perfect,
    Perfect practice makes perfect...

  6. #6
    Double Bagged s10blaza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    5,951
    I agree, unless you have every single component from a donor SyTy, you're way better off building it from scratch.

    BTW, I'm running a bone stock Vortec 4.3 off an Astro Van on my Typhoon. The higher compression definitely made a huge difference, its not a dog on take off anymore, although it is a little harder to tune


  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    california
    Posts
    3
    What exactly would you need to do the on a swap on an l35 engine.

  8. #8
    Double Bagged s10blaza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    5,951
    Depends on what you plan on doing to it. You could just slap everything on and drive it for years if you don't get on it, but the upgrades are for longevity and increased cylinder pressures

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •