Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: Why dont they just sell the fuel pump

  1. #1
    Administrator Blazin Low's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    In Front of You
    Posts
    4,708

    Why dont they just sell the fuel pump

    for 2nd gen blazers, instead of the $250 module

    im asking for my cousin, he's got a 99 bravada.

    all the major sites list only the complete assembly - only places i can find just the pump are ebay.

    ???
    this is a test of the sig

  2. #2
    Zombie Killer 6SpeedBlazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Lake St. Louis
    Posts
    6,594
    Quote Originally Posted by Blazin Low View Post
    for 2nd gen blazers, instead of the $250 module

    im asking for my cousin, he's got a 99 bravada.

    all the major sites list only the complete assembly - only places i can find just the pump are ebay.

    ???
    gm is a business, they are in it to make money.

  3. #3
    Administrator Blazin Low's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    In Front of You
    Posts
    4,708
    give me your thoughts on this

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/NEW-O...Q5fAccessories

    Seems like the part number is AC Delco BGV00248
    this is a test of the sig

  4. #4
    5.7L VORTEC 350 blazin4low's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Jax,FL
    Posts
    2,615
    I remember they did sell the pump repair kit at one time

    I just replaced the module on the xtreme for 550
    http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t114/VortecBlazer/sidredo.jpg
    Tuned by Bland Tuning
    Transmission built by Transbuilderguy on FSC!
    Marine Intake swap by me

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Lyndon, Kansas
    Posts
    7,511
    yeah i was going to say we've done that once or twice at work for various reasons so they are out there.


    89' S10 blazer 4wd: 355, 650 dp, rpm intake, comp 282 roller cam, modified vortecs, T56 Six speed, 8.8 ls rear, headers, x-pipe, spintech pro street mufflers, and......AC

    Blazer burnout video - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sP7iLypoDI4

  6. #6
    5.7L VORTEC 350 blazin4low's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Jax,FL
    Posts
    2,615
    for 50 bucks I would have done that, but needed the blazer on the road the night it broke down.......and I would repair the old one, but the shity plastic broke on the hose fittings
    http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t114/VortecBlazer/sidredo.jpg
    Tuned by Bland Tuning
    Transmission built by Transbuilderguy on FSC!
    Marine Intake swap by me

  7. #7
    Double Bagged s10blaza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    5,951
    You can most definitely do it. I used to work at Oreilly and used to do it all the time. Take it apart and it's a plane jane 50-85 psi fuel pump good for any Vortec motor with a universal GM connector. My sister's has an e3270 (airtex #) and it's a 2000 blazer 4.3 and it runs great.

  8. #8
    Vamos Mantequilla!!! ProfessorKaos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Fond du Lac, WI
    Posts
    1,043
    I put an airtex in mine as well. We'll see how it does when spring is here to stay.

    '93 bodied Std. Cab....Classick
    Midwestminis.net <- Go There!


  9. #9
    houston-streets.com vortec owner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    houston
    Posts
    211
    i put one of them shitty airtex pumps on my blazer it ran fine while in park but in gear it ran like trash ended up takin it back and goin to the chevy dealer and it was actually cheaper than autozone

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    poplar bluff, mo
    Posts
    5
    I used to work for Federated Auto Parts aka Fisher Auto Parts..
    We had a lot of customers who bought airtex pumps from autozone, then when they failed just a short while later, they would buy a Carter pump from me...

  11. #11
    I'm BATMAN! Harley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Warren, MI
    Posts
    2,420
    I'd go with the Delco part you found. That would be what the dealer would sell if they had one on the shelf.
    Black 'n Tanazer, Long Bed, Coupe Quattro, Old Caddy, Old Rice

    Member of the SCUDS Task Force
    Spike Clean Up & Disposal Service

  12. #12
    5.7L VORTEC 350 blazin4low's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Jax,FL
    Posts
    2,615
    I'm done with all aftermarket electrical parts for stock replacement, it delco or delphi from now on!
    http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t114/VortecBlazer/sidredo.jpg
    Tuned by Bland Tuning
    Transmission built by Transbuilderguy on FSC!
    Marine Intake swap by me

  13. #13
    2.8 liters of pure power! jasond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Emporia, Ks
    Posts
    267
    Personally, I would upgrade to a Walbro pump. http://www.s10planet.com/forum/showthread.php?t=25158

  14. #14
    Zombie Killer 6SpeedBlazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Lake St. Louis
    Posts
    6,594
    Quote Originally Posted by Blazin Low View Post
    give me your thoughts on this

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/NEW-O...Q5fAccessories

    Seems like the part number is AC Delco BGV00248
    little late, but i agree with everyone else. delco or delphi for fuel pumps.

    i WILL NOT install anything else. just not worth my time.

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Pensacola Fl
    Posts
    421
    Kinda oldish thread but didn't wanna start a new one for this. My fuel pump is about time to be replaced since it's making a horrible noise and starting issues and was told it was the fuel pump so I figured I would replace it before it stands me. So how hard is it just to replace the pump like the one found in the like BL posted? Thanks guys.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •