Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Quick speedometer question

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    My avalanche,totaled 8( POSblazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Pensa~cola,Fl.
    Posts
    931

    Thumbs up Quick speedometer question

    I've searched with no luck. So, here's my question. The Blazer I recently purchased has a '91 'vette engine and a transmission with either an older transmission or oler tailshaft. There's about 7 inches of speedometer cable sticking out of the side of the transmission. I have cable driven gauges in the Blazer. Of course, none of the gauges work, except the fuel gauge(sort of). Which speedometer cable year/make do I need? I'm trying to work out one problem at a time. Having to guess how fast I'm going is my biggest concern at this time. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.
    Update:My avalanche was totaled by my ex-gf. My business is in ruins. I now plan on finishing the engine repairs to my Saturn, and sell it. Once I get the bills paid off, I'm going to fix my Blazer.
    History:I bought a 2001 saturn sc2, then a 2005 avanche 1500 2wd, then a '87 S10 blazer 2dr 2wd on 07/24/2010, and on 04/01/2011 a '84 s10 blazer 2dr 2wd V8 drag racer(sort of)

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Lyndon, Kansas
    Posts
    7,511
    get a stock cable for your truck.


    89' S10 blazer 4wd: 355, 650 dp, rpm intake, comp 282 roller cam, modified vortecs, T56 Six speed, 8.8 ls rear, headers, x-pipe, spintech pro street mufflers, and......AC

    Blazer burnout video - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sP7iLypoDI4

  3. #3
    streetissuecustoms.com low_blazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Poulsbo, Washington
    Posts
    1,968
    Quote Originally Posted by Superbee View Post
    get a stock cable for your truck.
    yup
    Doug
    '85 Blazer...bagged, small-blocked, back-halfed and body dropped
    http://streetissuecustoms.com/salesban_3.jpg
    Street Issue Customs

    For all your custom fiberglass, interior or stereo needs... Epicenter Designs

    Originally posted by S/T Lover
    That post would have made more sense if you would have just pissed all over the screen and posted a screen shot of that.

  4. #4
    chiefron Ron Christensen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Folsom,CA
    Posts
    32
    POS, an aftermarket company called LOKAR makes a "universal" cable & housing that you can cut to length. It is teflon lined and works very smooth and is reasonably priced. Compare to a new GM. Plus the extra length sometimes gives you an opportunity to make slower (less tight) bends. A salvage yard find for the OEM replacement would be the cheapest. Just clean and lube it up well. Oh yea, grease the cable too! LOL

  5. #5
    My avalanche,totaled 8( POSblazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Pensa~cola,Fl.
    Posts
    931
    Thanks for the responses. I'll check on that brand cable. I'll probably just get one from the local yard(plus a few other parts), as soon as I get my refund check in. Right now I'm working on fixing the massive exhaust leaks. The guy that did the swap didnast do a very good job. Thanks. :D
    Update:My avalanche was totaled by my ex-gf. My business is in ruins. I now plan on finishing the engine repairs to my Saturn, and sell it. Once I get the bills paid off, I'm going to fix my Blazer.
    History:I bought a 2001 saturn sc2, then a 2005 avanche 1500 2wd, then a '87 S10 blazer 2dr 2wd on 07/24/2010, and on 04/01/2011 a '84 s10 blazer 2dr 2wd V8 drag racer(sort of)

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Jacktown 601
    Posts
    2
    Just swapped my 350/350 trans in my 87 and Speedo don't work.Do I need to change anything!Sorry to bomb your thread I'm tired of guessing to!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •