Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Thread: fuel question

  1. #1
    lowered member mpeace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Rome, GA
    Posts
    1,155

    fuel question

    I just picked up a 95 s10 4.3 vortec tbi the guy said it would run for 10-15 minutes then bog down and die and would not start back for a hour or so but when I went to pick it up it was not getting gas I checked for gas at the tbi which it is getting but no gas is coming out the injectors.
    So anybody have any thoughts?
    If you can't do your custom work yourself then sell your ride.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    8
    Fuel pump....It sounds like it was heating up at first and then shutting down,now it sounds like it aint working at all....Spray it with some starting fluid and see if it hits....

  3. #3
    lowered member mpeace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Rome, GA
    Posts
    1,155
    It does start when you pour gas in the tbi.
    The pump comes on and pump strong for a five seconds,which is what I've been told it is suppose to do.
    But there is nothing coming out the injectors.
    I wandered if the pump may not me pumping enough pressure to work the injectors.
    If you can't do your custom work yourself then sell your ride.

  4. #4
    5.7L VORTEC 350 blazin4low's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Jax,FL
    Posts
    2,615
    Quote Originally Posted by mpeace View Post
    I wandered if the pump may not me pumping enough pressure to work the injectors.
    check the pressure and go from there
    http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t114/VortecBlazer/sidredo.jpg
    Tuned by Bland Tuning
    Transmission built by Transbuilderguy on FSC!
    Marine Intake swap by me

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    8
    Its the pump...its not pressuring up enough.....

  6. #6
    Zombie Killer 6SpeedBlazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Lake St. Louis
    Posts
    6,594
    bad ignition module and or pickup coil

  7. #7
    Registered User Blaz90's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,138
    Just went through this same thing. Clean the injectors. Then pull the fuel pump. The pump could be bad or it could be the screen is clogged or the little rubber hose can be cracked(mine). A friend of mine replaced his pump and still had this problem, found out that the part store gave him wrong pump with a different(lower) output pressure and it would pressurize the line but not enough to fire the injectors.

  8. #8
    lowered member mpeace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Rome, GA
    Posts
    1,155
    Quote Originally Posted by 6SpeedBlazer View Post
    bad ignition module and or pickup coil
    It has a new module and new pickup.
    The previous owner replace alot of stuff,the module,coil,fuel pressure regulator,computer,fuel filter.
    I tried to scan the computer but the scanner would on get so far into the scan and error out,I was told this could be a ground problem.
    If you can't do your custom work yourself then sell your ride.

  9. #9
    lowered member mpeace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Rome, GA
    Posts
    1,155
    Quote Originally Posted by Blaz90 View Post
    Just went through this same thing. Clean the injectors. Then pull the fuel pump. The pump could be bad or it could be the screen is clogged or the little rubber hose can be cracked(mine). A friend of mine replaced his pump and still had this problem, found out that the part store gave him wrong pump with a different(lower) output pressure and it would pressurize the line but not enough to fire the injectors.
    Gonna clean the injectors sunday and pull the pump and check it,I'm really thinking it is the pump
    If you can't do your custom work yourself then sell your ride.

  10. #10
    lowered member mpeace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Rome, GA
    Posts
    1,155
    Got a dumb question,
    When I take the return line off the tbi and turn the switch on should gas come out or not?
    If you can't do your custom work yourself then sell your ride.

  11. #11
    lowered member mpeace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Rome, GA
    Posts
    1,155
    Changed the fuel pressure regulator and control module and still nothing
    If you can't do your custom work yourself then sell your ride.

  12. #12
    Registered User wagonmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    469
    Still going to go with fuel pump, or the screen on the pump. Sucky job, but at least it will answer the question if it's just clogged or a bad pump.
    Not being able scan sounds wierd too.

  13. #13
    lowered member mpeace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Rome, GA
    Posts
    1,155
    I picked up a used throttle body today and put it on but it didn't help anything,I pulled the pump it looks aftermarket and screen looks fine
    If you can't do your custom work yourself then sell your ride.

  14. #14
    Registered User wagonmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    469
    Might still be a computer issue. Hard to tell when you can't scan it.

  15. #15
    lowered member mpeace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Rome, GA
    Posts
    1,155
    I have two different computers for it not sure if either is factory but it does the same thing with both computers,I was told by a couple of people that it may just be a bad ground somewhere,but I have no idea
    If you can't do your custom work yourself then sell your ride.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •