Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Project Lil' Squirt

Project Lil' Squirt

Hello, my name is Chris and I'm from Lincoln Ne. I have been doing car stereo install for the past 8 years, but a few months ago I got a job at Duncan Aviation here in Lincon. Now I'm working on personal aircraft interiors.

A few months ago I picked up this 91 Blazer for a good price and I have always liked this body style.

This is what it looked like when I picked it up...

The back of it was stripped out so I went to the junkyard and got most of what I needed for it.

I even found a digital cluster for it, I hope it works.

Here are a few pics of how it went back together.

My wife laying down some sound deadening.

This truck is a base model and the speedometer didn't work so I figured I would do a digital cluster.

I made new rear speaker pods. The main reason I did it was so I wouldn't have to listen to my kids play with the ashtrays the other was to mount 6" speakers back there rather than 6x9

Here we go the speakers are in...

The front speakers will be in pods on the door. I thought about doing kick panels but I like how this turned out in my suburban and I don't want to put these Alpine Type-X Pro speakers where they will be getting kicked around.

The single 10" Boston G2 sounds amazing in the back
    The corners are a little off but I think I might rebuild these and use the plastics I took off for my pattern.

I have changed the door pop switches, from yellow trunk pop buttons to these blue led buttons. They will light up with the dome lights.

I also did my big 3 upgrade

I also picked up an old school Alpine 6ch amp

I'm thinking about updating the look with some new paint and maybe upgrade the wood grain.

Future plans for this is

Finish the stereo build
    Suspension work
    Paint
    SBC V8
    Brake upgrade

Really nice looking blazer. What is that steering wheel off of?